Printers that are defined and configured on client devices can be autocreated for use in the ICA session.
For autocreated client printers, the following options are added to Feature Release 2 and greater:
• Update Printer Properties at Logon. By default, this is unchecked to minimize logon time. When checked, we read the users profile registry key every time the user logs on.. This could delay logon in some environments. In Feature Release 1/Service Pack 1, during a logoff/logon, the user profile is used to save/restore the entire devmode [including the device-specific portion] AND the printer driver data associated for each client printer. If this saved data is not found in the profile, only a subset of devmode [printing related fields of the common portion of the devmode data structure] which can be read from the client is used during autocreation.
• Inherit Printer settings for pending print jobs. By default, this is checked. If a job is pending in the spooler when a user logs off or disconnects, the job resumes printing when the user logs on again. The print job uses the printer setting with which it was spooled.
• Delete pending print jobs at logoff. By default, this is unchecked to preserve spooled print jobs. When checked, any pending job is deleted and the printer can autodelete properly.
Additional Enhancements from MetaFrame Feature Release 2 and greater
• A Search utility is added to the Printers tab under Print Management. This allows the administrator to search the Active Directory for printer objects associated with specific users.
• When publishing an application, you now have a new option to start an application without waiting for printers to be created. This was added because with custom ICA connections and published applications, the printer autocreation timing is different. When connecting to a server, the printers are autocreated asynchronously, meaning the printers continue to autocreate after the desktop is completely launched. A published application waits for the printers to complete (synchronous) before launching unless the Feature Release 2 option is selected in the properties of the published application.